

National Lieutenant Governors Association

Resolution Establishing the NLGA Government Innovators Award

- 2 WHEREAS, the National Lieutenant Governors Association (NLGA) has the mission to improve the
- efficiency and effectiveness of state and territorial government through interstate cooperation and the
- 4 exchange of ideas and innovations, and
- 5 WHEREAS, NLGA Members, as the nation's lieutenant governors and seconds-in-command in the
- 6 states and territories, oversee and execute initiatives to increase governmental efficiencies, incorporate
- 7 innovations, ensure the best use of taxpayer dollars, and improve the delivery of government services
- 8 and administration, and

1

- 9 WHEREAS, Sourcewell is a governmental organization created to help other governments increase
- 10 their efficiencies with administrative services, research and planning, community services, shared time
- 11 programs, fiscal services and risk management, technology planning and training, health and safety
- 12 programming, and cooperative purchasing, and
- 13 WHEREAS, Sourcewell is long-time partner of the NLGA through its public-private sector program,
- 14 and has committed to support and present an award to Members for a minimum of three years as an
- 15 NLGA Chairman Level Partner.
- 16 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the National Lieutenant Governors Association
- 17 authorizes its Director, under the direction annually of the Chair, to work with Sourcewell to present a
- 18 NLGA Government Innovators Award to a NLGA Member recognizing their contributions to
- 19 innovations, efficiencies, and transparency in state and territorial government, understanding that same
- 20 will create no negative fiscal impact to NLGA.
- 21 **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that the award will first be presented at the 2023 Federal-State
- 22 Relations Meeting in March 2023, and continued thereafter at an NLGA Meeting in the Spring, pending
- 23 continued agreement between NLGA and Sourcewell.

ADOPTED, this day, the 22nd of July, 2022.

Sponsors: Lt. Governor Adam Gregg (R – Iowa), Lt. Governor Bethany Hall-Long (D – Delaware), Lt. Governor Sabina Matos (D – Rhode Island), Lt. Governor Billy Nungesser (R – Louisiana)